UN Women - United Nations Entity for Gender Equality and the Empowerment of Women

Bureau of the UN-Women Executive Board

The Bureau of the UN-Women Executive Board is constituted by a President and four Vice-Presidents. Each member of the Bureau represents one of the five regional groups, and is elected by the Executive Board each year from among its members, with the presidency rotating among the regional groups on an annual basis. Each group holds the presidency once during a period of five years.

2014 Bureau of the Executive Board

H.E. Mr.Gonzalo Koncke Pizzorno, Permanent Representative of the Permanent Mission of Uruguay


  • Ms. Kadra Ahmed Hassan, First Counsellor of the Permanent Mission of Djibouti (pending election at the annual session 2014) 
  • Ms. Helen Beck, Deputy Permanent Representative of the Permanent Mission of Solomon Islands
  • Ms. Daria Wolosiuk, Second Secretary of the Permanent Mission of Poland
  • Ms. Amy Haddad, Counsellor Development of the Permanent Mission of Australia

The Bureau coordinates closely with the Secretary of the Executive Board to fulfill the primary functions that include preparation and organization of Board meetings, facilitation of transparent decision-making and promotion of dialogue between UN-Women and the Member States. Members of the Bureau coordinate informal consultations within their respective regional groups helping to highlight the issues and recommendations that require consideration and action by the Board.

Although the Bureau does not have the authority to make decisions on substantive matters, its work is indispensable to the smooth and efficient functioning of the Board. The Bureau considers issues related to the agenda of the meetings, documentation and the structure of meetings. Members of the Bureau usually meet on a regular basis, and daily during the Executive Board sessions.

The Bureau coordinates with the Bureau of the Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC) and other governing bodies of UN operational entities, especially on joint reporting to the ECOSOC Operational Activities Segment, in accordance with A/RES/48/162 indicating the oversight functions of ECOSOC.

Former members of the Bureau of the Executive Board: 2011 | 2012 | 2013