Bureau of the UN-Women Executive Board

The Bureau of the UN-Women Executive Board is constituted by a President and four Vice-Presidents. Each member of the Bureau represents one of the five regional groups, and is elected by the Executive Board each year from among its members, with the presidency rotating among the regional groups on an annual basis. Each group holds the presidency once during a period of five years.

2015 Bureau of the Executive Board

UN Women Executive Board President, H.E. Ambassador Ib Petersen, Permanent Representative of the Permanent Mission of Denmark

H.E. Ambassador Ib Petersen
Permanent Representative of the
Permanent Mission of Denmark

UN Women Executive Board Vice Presidents 2015

Vice-Presidents (left to right)

  • Ms. Bakhta Selma Mansouri, Third Secretary, Permanent Mission of Algeria
  • Mr. Barun Dev Mitra, Minister Economic Affairs, Permanent Mission of the People’s Republic of Bangladesh
  • Ms. Sejla Durbuzović, Counsellor, Permanent Mission of Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Ms. Alma Bibiana Perez, Minister, Permanent Mission of Colombia

The Bureau works closely with the Secretariat of the Executive Board to implement its primary functions. These include preparations and organization of formal Executive Board meetings, facilitation of transparent decision-making and promotion of dialogue between Member States and UN-Women. Members of the Bureau are responsible for informing and consulting with their respective regional group on issues pertaining to the Executive Board proceedings.

The Bureau has mostly an information sharing role and does not have authority to make decisions on substantive matters. The Bureau considers issues related to the agenda, documentation and the structure of Board meetings. It meets on a monthly basis and daily during the Executive Board sessions. Its work is indispensable to the smooth and efficient functioning of the Board.

The Bureau coordinates with the Bureau of the Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC) and other governing bodies of UN operational entities, especially on joint reporting to the ECOSOC Operational Activities Segment, in accordance with A/RES/48/162 indicating the oversight functions of ECOSOC.

Former members of the Bureau of the Executive Board: 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014

PaperSmart Portal

UN Web TV - The United Nations Live & On-demand

Visit the website for the Beijing+20 campaign