UN Women at the 21st Annual Webby Awards

Date: Tuesday, May 16, 2017

On 15 May, UN Women was among the winners and honourees of the 21st Annual Webby Awards, celebrated at a star-studded ceremony in New York. UN Women’s timeline, Women’s Footprint in History, won the prestigious award under Activism category for Websites.

“Step Up for Gender Equality,” said Jaya Jiwatram, UN Women’s Digital and Interactive Media Specialist, in her five-word acceptance speech.

The Webby Awards, a prize for excellence on the Internet, is presented annually by the International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences. This year, the Webbys received 13,000 entries from 70 countries worldwide.

“We are thrilled that UN Women has received an award that honours the best of the internet every year,” said Nanette Braun, UN Women Chief of Communications and Advocacy. “It’s particularly exciting that this distinction is given to an original piece that pays tribute to women’s contribution in history. These women truly deserve the recognition. We see this award as strong encouragement to continue UN Women’s work towards a world where gender equality is a reality.”

The timeline showcases trailblazing women throughout history, from Sor Juana Inés de la Cruz to Raich Hiratsuka and Unity Dow, from countries such as New Zealand to Zimbabwe and many others, who have made extraordinary contributions to their societies, and highlights the gender equality gaps that still exist today. 

This year’s Webby Winners, Special Achievement Honorees and Presenters included personalities such as artists Solange and Kara Walker, The Women’s March co-chairs Carmen Perez, Linda Sarsour and Bob Bland, and YouTube Creators for Change ambassadors Franchesca Ramsey, Amani Al-Khatahtbeh and Humza Arshad, among others.

See "Timeline: Women's footprint in history" at https://www.unwomen.org/en/digital-library/multimedia/2016/3/timeline-womens-footprint-in-history.

Visit the Webby Awards website at www.webbyawards.com.

Watch The 21st Annual Webby Awards at https://www.youtube.com/user/TheWebbyAwards