CSW69 / Beijing+30 Preparations

The thirty-year review and appraisal is taking place as mandated by Economic and Social Council resolution 2022/5.

National-level review of implementation

States are called upon to undertake comprehensive national-level reviews of the progress made and challenges encountered in the implementation of the Beijing Declaration and Platform for Action and the outcomes of the 23rd special session of the General Assembly. The reviews should include an assessment of current challenges that affect the implementation of the Platform for Action and the achievement of gender equality and the empowerment of all women and girls and its contribution towards the full realization of the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development through a gender perspective.

Governments should collaborate with relevant stakeholders at all levels of preparations for the 2025 review to benefit from their experience and expertise.

National reports should cover trends, achievements and remaining gaps and challenges, as well as future plans to accelerate implementation at the national level.

The regional commissions will use the national reports to prepare regional synthesis reports over the course of 2024. All States are invited to complete their national reports by 1 June 2024.

National reports will feed into the global synthesis report that UN-Women will submit to the sixty-ninth session of the Commission on the Status of Women to be held in March 2025.

UN-Women and the regional commissions have developed a common Guidance note to assist in and facilitate the conduct of comprehensive national-level reviews. Submission of national reports will take place through an online form that will be shared with designated national focal points.

Retrieve the Guidance note: Arabic | Chinese | English | French | Russian | Spanish

Regional 30-year review processes

Regional review processes include the preparation of regional reports and the organization of regional intergovernmental meetings. These will be conducted in all five regions by the United Nations regional commissions:

  • Economic Commission for Africa (ECA)
  • Economic Commission for Europe (ECE)
  • Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean (ECLAC)
  • Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific (ESCAP)
  • Economic and Social Commission for Western Asia (ESCWA)